Although a store bought bread brand may not have a Kosher Symbol, it still may be clean.
Why? First, it has to do with the Rabbinical teaching of not eating meat and dairy at the same time. We are not following the Rabbi’s and Rabbinical Judaism.
We are following Yehovah and His Commandments.
Some bread contains dairy, so since you might eat meat at the same meal as bread, the Rabbi’s prohibit bread having dairy. They are concerned that someone might accidentally eat bread with dairy and also eat meat at the same meal.
If you see a Kosher Symbol on bread, you may also see the word Pareve. This word means that the food is prepared without meat and milk.
“And he took butter, and milk, and the calf which he had dressed, and set it before them; and he stood by them under the tree, and they did eat.” Genesis 8:18
The Father of our Faith, Abraham, when he was visited by Yehovah, made a feast with meat and dairy and they did eat. If it was good enough for The Father, it’s good enough for us!
So, if you eat clean, but not kosher, you still may be able to eat some store bought breads if they do not have a Kosher symbol.
Don’t know what Kosher symbols look like? Click here for a picture of common symbols.
However, there are some ingredient in store bought breads that are not clean.
These can include: Enzymes, such as Alpha-Amylase from hog pancreas , L-cysteine, from duck feather, hog hair, hooves, horns or human hair, or mono and diglycerides, which can come from pork fat.
If the bread contains mono and diglycerides, but has a Kosher symbol, means that they are not from a pork source.
Some store bought bread isn’t healthy even if it’s clean and kosher. A great alternative is to make your own homemade sourdough bread. See our recipe here.