Clean and Kosher Cheese

Our family had thought we were eating clean for a couple years. Then we learned that pork, shellfish, and other unclean animals are hidden in different kinds of foods and supplements.

Here we’ll discuss what we learned about cheese, but first we’ll discuss why we eat dairy and meat together i.e. cheeseburgers, lasagna, etc.

“Thou shalt not seethe a kid in his mother’s milk.” Ex.34:26

Jewish Rabbi’s say that this scripture means that you cannot eat meat and milk together. That is not what Yehovah is saying here.

Some cheese is not labeled “kosher”, for this reason.

He is telling us not to cook a kid (kid, lamb,or calf) in their mother’s milk, because the milk from their mother is what would give them life. It’s not that we can’t eat these two things together, but that it is cruel to cook a kid in what would be it’s life source, and Yehovah say’s not to do it. It is that simple.

“And he took butter, and milk, and the calf which he had dressed, and set it before them; and he stood by them under the tree, and they did eat.” Genesis 18:8

We can see where Abraham, the Father of our Faith, when he was visited by Yehovah, fed him both milk and meat at the same meal.

Although we eat milk and meat together, we are not going to invite someone over for supper who doesn’t and make them a cheeseburger. Then argue with them about why they won’t eat it. Because Scripture says:

But when ye sin so against the brethren, and wound their weak conscience, ye sin against Messiah Wherefore, if meat make my brother to offend, I will eat no flesh while the world standeth, lest I make my brother to offend. 1 Corinthains 8:12-13

OUR PRINTABLE PDF CHEESE LIST

This two page list will help you when you are grocery shopping. You can print if off to take it with you to the store. If a cheese is on our list, it is clean, kosher, or both.

There are some companies that use pork rennet as their enzymes, which would make them unclean. While other companies use lamb or calf rennet, so those cheeses would be clean,although not be labeled as kosher.

What is rennet? Rennet is the enzyme used to coagulate the milk (separate the curd from the whey), in order to make cheese from the curds. There are different kinds of rennet, some are animal derived and others are microbial-based (derived from mushrooms, mold or yeast).

Some companies use animal based enzymes and others microbial or vegetable based enzymes.

The link below is to a website that lists vegetarian cheeses, which would make them clean.

https://vegetatio.com/content/joyous-living-full-vegetarian-cheese-list

Another website listed below is a kosher certification company, where you can search different products, by brand name, to see if it is kosher.

https://oukosher.org/product-search/

Keep in mind things can change, so it is best to keep informed on what changes companies may be making.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s