A lot of folks take vitamins, minerals, and other supplements.
If you are seeking to obey the Father and eat clean, this is an area where you may be getting some unclean items you don’t realize.
What to look for:
Gelatin Capsules: This can be animal or vegetable derived. If it is not specified on the label, gelatin is most of the time, pork. If it is not pork, they will usually specify. Key words you’ll want to look for on the label are: Veg Caps, Suitable for Vegetarians, Vegetable Cellulose, Beef or Bovine Gelatin Caps.
At the top of this page, you’ll see the “Star K” symbol it confirms kosher gelatin whether clean animal or veg derived.
Tablets and Additions to Capsules:
Stearic Acid, SA, is found naturally in animal fat, especially pork fat, and also certain plants that contain fat/oil. These sources are heated and pressurized in order to isolate and remove stearic acid.
It can also be derived from Coconut and Palm Kernel Oil and Cocoa Butter.
Unless the product is marked kosher, it may not be clean. The word stear is from the Greek meaning “tallow’.
Magnesium Stearate, is a combination of Magnesium and Stearic Acid. It is often derived from Palm Oil, but again if it’s not marked kosher or vegetarian, it could be pork derived.
Calcium Stearate, is a combination of Calcium and Stearic Acid. Again, a combination, so unless specified kosher or vegetarian, it may be unclean.
Glycerin, is commonly derived from animal fat. There are also plant based glycerin. Unless specified on the label or labeled vegetarian or kosher, it may be unclean.
Other Additives and Enyzmes:
Carmine is an unclean bug that is used to make red coloring such as Red 4 and Red 40
Lipase,Digestive Enzyme can be pork derived. They also use lamb, cows, and goats. Look for Kosher symbol or vegetarian.
Pepsin Digestive Enzyme, can be pork derived. They also use lamb, cows and goats. Look for Kosher symbol or vegetarian.
For further study on Kosher Certification of Supplements read the article below: